830-456-9326
Image may be subject to copyright
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
placeholder
Image may be subject to copyright
Guests
Guests (6 & above)
Children (6 & above)
Pets
Cabin Type
BOOK NOW

The Hideaway Cabin Reviews
-Fredericksburg, Texas-

June 2020

This has been one of the most neat & relaxing experiences we have had traveling & exploring Texas so far. The Hideaway Cabin at Walnut Canyon Cabins is the perfect little getaway & I will be recommending this place to all of my family & friends! So amazing to feel so close to nature but still have all of the luxuries of a nice hotel. Thank you! Jessica & Brian – San Angelo, TX

Thank you so very much for being such wonderful & gracious hosts. The view was breathtaking & it was nice to enjoy the silence & sounds of nature away from the chaos of today's world. We had an amazing time & will be back again. Sincerely, Andrew & Margarite

May 2020

We so enjoyed every minute of our stay! The Hideaway cabin is so cozy & the view Spectacular!! It was nice to come here & relax & disconnect & celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary in the beautiful hill country. We will definitely return & bring our 3 girls next time! Thank you Carl & Rhonda for being incredible hosts. The farm fresh breakfasts were amazing!! Pastor Dan & Laura – Nacogdoches, TX

This weekend was to celebrate our third anniversary. We've had 2 kids & this getaway was much needed. We had an amazing time & the view is incredible. We spent half our time sitting on the deck & enjoying God's creation. Thank you Carl & Rhonda your hospitality was great & the cabin was very clean! The Sweet's – Tom Bean, TX

This cabin was the perfect little getaway. Our family enjoyed the view & all the little things in the cabin like the farm-fresh eggs & the deer feed. Carl & Rhonda are wonderful hosts. We are glad we found such a gem. The Perry's – McAllen, TX

Hello, During this pandemic, a getaway weekend with your man/partner/soulmate is all you need to keep moving. To be frank, my boyfriend & I had planned to visit enchanted rock & just camp in the car & enjoy the weekend there. We were unable to get a reservation. We searched online and found Walnut Canyon Cabins. We spoke with Carl & booked ourselves a cabin within 10 minutes. Carl & Rhonda were so sweet they let us look at & choose the cabin we wanted when we arrived so we could pick the best one for us. Thank you both so much for the hospitality. We'll be back soon! Miguel & Farhancito

What an incredible weekend! The beauty of the outdoors comes alive here. Thank you for taking such good care of us! Nicole & Miguel – San Antonio, TX

Thank you guys for letting us see the wonders that God has created. It is inexcusable to think that there is no God after seeing these views. My wife lost her job and I work in a stressful hospital in Houston Medical Center. God takes care of the birds & the flowers so of course he will take care of you & me "so never be anxious" & Thank You!!! George & Abi – Houston, TX


April 2020

As I walked up to the Hideaway Cabin I knew this was the start to a perfect get-a-way weekend! This place is so peaceful – we spent time on the back deck watching all the wildlife & enjoying the beautiful view of the canyon. Thank you Rhonda & Carl for creating a great place to escape the chaos! We will be back soon! The Frasiers

I needed a last minute space that was in nature, quiet & peaceful. You have provided the perfect place so that I could have solitude & pray – to seek the Lord & hear from him. Thank you so much for your accommodations & goodwill. I pray that God continues to bless you as you seek him. Sincerely, James – Fort Worth, TX


March 2020

In a trip where everything was going wrong, you gave us an amazing place to stay at the last minute. We loved breakfast, feeding the cows, & listening to the animals. Thank you so much! We'll be sure to come back next time there isn't a pandemic! Sincerely, Meridith, Elise, Violet, Olivia & Jansen – Pflugerville, TX

Our stay here was amazing! Everything we could have wanted or needed was here waiting for us. Carl & Rhonda, we appreciate you & your wonderful hospitality! We can't wait to come back! Mark & Theresa & Willow – Maple Valley, WA


Love Your Place! We will be back when we can stay longer. Thank you so much! Edwin


February 2020

Everything about this place is beautiful. The cabin, this property, the owners, the breakfast & the VIEW! We had such a great time & some much needed rest. This is one of my favorite places I have ever stayed & can't wait to come back again! Robin & Tom – Clearlake, TX


What a lovely place! We enjoyed this wonderful, comfortable little cabin. The view from the back deck is lovely. We like being able to make breakfast for ourselves on our own schedule. The animals on the property were fun. The robes were also a nice touch, I wore mine a lot. We'll be back with our daughter who wants us to bring her next time so she can use the nook above the ladder! The Westheimer's – League City, TX


January 2020

We enjoyed our weekend at the Hideaway cabin. Thank you for your wonderful

welcome & the beautiful setting with the farm animals. It was relaxing! Marcia & John


Great spot for first timers to the Hill Country! The view was amazing, the wildlife plentiful & the cabin itself was a perfect getaway from the big city! Thank you, we will be back. Jeff & Rebbecca – LaPorte, TX


December 2019


Rhonda & Carl, you have a jewel of the Hill Country here! We loved it! We are coming back! Thank you for everything. Love, Elva & Rene – Kyle, TX

Carl & Rhonda, thank you for another beautiful weekend! We were so happy to see y'all again. Wishing you a most blessed Christmas & New Year! Love y'all, Russ & Jac – Houston, TX

Hello and thank you so much for making us feel so welcome the moment we came in. We appreciate everything you guys do & how you personally made our stay homey. My family and I love staying here & plan to come here every year. We think this place & your guys are so great & judging from the rest of your reviews a bunch of others do too! Love, Ana, Pablo, Lucas, Carol, Carla, David & Fluffy


November 2019


We had a wonderful anniversary weekend! Thank you for your hospitality. The Hideaway cabin is beautiful, as is the location. Loved the deer & cows & chickens! It was so nice to get away to enjoy some peace & serenity! Patti & Tommy – New Caney, TX

We loved everything about The Hideaway Cabin...the view, the fresh eggs, the local canadian bacon, fresh fruit. We will be back & spend more time in the cabin. Norma & Martin – San Antonio, TX

Loved our stay! The area, seclusion, fresh make-your-own-breakfast, view, memory-foam topper on the bed, accommodations & hospitality were all appreciated. We look forward to staying again & referring friends & family to do the same. Also, thanks for letting us know Charlie Daniels was playing down the road! Bill & Rachel – New Braunfels, TX



October 2019

We loved the little Hideaway Cabin & the beautiful view. We celebrated our 40-yr anniversary here. All the deer & other animals were such a treat. The food provided was so good!!!! We will come back, definitely. Thank you. Harley & Dickey – North Richland Hills, TX


September 2019

Thank you for such an amazing weekend. This was a weekend full of memories & can't wait to come back. We truly appreciate your hospitality. Alton & Nicky – Bullard, TX


August 2019

Short but very relaxing stay. Can't wait to come back here for the fresh eggs! Thank you both. Arnaud – Chicago, ILBien Sejour & Merci Bien! Vincente – Paris, France

Great place to stay. Very quiet & peaceful. The Alamo Springs Cafe was a great recommendation. Thanks again, we will be back. Tate & Kimberly – San Angelo, TX

What a view!! The double rainbow was so amazing to see & so close!! Your cabin was such a treat for us. Loved every minute here! Bless you both! Pam – Porter, TX

This is our third stay at Walnut Canyon Cabins. As always such an amazing view! Fed the deer. We saw 2 fox. The accommodations were great. Planning another trip in February. The cabin was very well stocked with all the necessities. Keith & Bobbi – Waxahachie, TX

I loved the cabin. It's very clean, very charming & very well equipped. I loved having the armadillos as a neighbor. You are very special people. When you go to Corpus Christi, come visit us, at a Brazilian house everything is a reason for a party. Ivani – Corpus Christi, TX

July 2019

Rhonda & Carl, You have provided a little slice of heaven here. Thank you for an amazing, relaxing weekend. I am looking forward to next time. I will tell everyone I know about this wonderful place. Thank You. James & Benni

Today is our 25th wedding anniversary! We were so blessed to celebrate it here! We were awed by the view. Glory to God! The cabin was just perfect for us! We enjoyed the delicious breakfast & coffee on the deck. We saw the fox & deer. Thank you for recommending the Navajo Grill, it was delicious & one of the highlights of our trip. God bless you for sharing this place. The Butler's – Bellville, TX

Thank you so much for the wonderful cabin. This is our 2nd time back here & I know there will be more! We love this part of Texas!! Shelby & Jordan

June 2019

Thanks for everything!! This place is perfect, just what we needed. The peace & quiet, the views, the breakfast were awesome. The welcome greeting was pretty good too!! Will definitely look y'all up next time we're in the area. Jimmy & Anita – Lake Creek, TX

Thank you so much for a relaxing 40th birthday getaway with my sister! Loved the flowers, happy birthday sign, chocolates & cozy clean cabin! We had a great time & appreciate you both! Keri & Susan

Thank you so much for a great time. It was the perfect spot for our girl weekend getaway. Breakfast was delicious! We will be back! Adaly & Sara – Laredo, TX and Moraina & Virginia – San Antonio, TX

May 2019


Thank you so very much for everything. From the warm greeting to the farm-fresh eggs, to the special treats. Everything was PERFECT!!! We definitely will be booking with you all again in the future. Keep doing what you're doing. Not many people or places like this any more. Forever Guests – Kevin & Kelly & Kole

I can't thank Carl & Rhonda enough for making our early summer road trip absolutely perfect. When my husband said he'd booked a cabin, my expectations were low. The Hideaway, however, was fantastic! The loft was perfect for our teen, the breakfast fixin's were delicious, the view was exquisite. I will always treasure the memory of sitting on the porch along side my teenage daughter, watching the deer, while a quick rain shower blew through. Who realized she could live without WIFI. And a special thank you for letting her feed Aggie & Chester. We've made lifetime memories here – Thank You! The Banner Family – Granbury, TX

A perfect vacation at the Hideaway Cabin. The cabin is beautiful, cozy & inviting. It has all the amenities & a breathtaking view from the balcony that you can stay here all day. We truly enjoyed our stay here. Carl & Rhonda were wonderful hosts. They provided great breakfast with fresh-farm eggs, Canadian bacon & mixed berries – which we all loved. They gave us corn to feed the deer & treats for Aggie, the Cow & Chester, the Rooster. This was such a nice surprise. Carl taught our kids to play horseshoes and the washer game. Our kids want to come back to try every cabin. Thank you Carl & Rhonda for everything! Looking forward to our next visit already. We all have a hard time leaving! The Lira Family – Irving, TX

Thank you Mr. Carl & Ms Rhonda, you provided us with everything we needed & more! You taught me & my sister to play horseshoes & washers. Our stay was the best! We fed ‘Aggie' & ‘Chester'. We sat on the porch at night & in the morning, no talking, & admiring the view. It's very hard to leave this beautiful place, that's why we hope to come back. Ian, from the Lira Family – Irving, TX

What a delightful cabin! The back balcony overlooking the deer in the evening & watching the mist rise in the morning. You can even hear cattle lowing in the far distance, just like in every western movie! This is a great place to reconnect with body, soul & spirit. Mike & Bobbie – Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Perfect night from deer to fox, We Loved it All! The cabin was so relaxing & stocked with everything needed. We hope to see you again soon! Angelle & Tommy – LaFayette, LA

We had a wonderful stay again at Walnut Canyon Cabins. Thank you for your hospitality. Olmos Family

Fabulous stay with great views, food & hospitality. Beth & Lauren

April 2019


What a blessed visit with friends as always & what a perfect evening visiting! Thank you Carl for your talents as our Chef – just PERFECT. May our Lord continue to bless & prosper Walnut Canyon Cabins – Love You Both, Russ & Jac

Richard & I have thoroughly enjoyed our time at Walnut Canyon Cabins. Each time we come, it is better & better. The ambience, the food, fellowship – everything was wonderful. I am already looking forward to our next visit. Thanks ever so much for the gracious hospitality. Richard & Lillian – Plano, TX

Thank you Carl & Rhonda for your wonderful hospitality & your beautiful cabins. Jacki & I were able to completely relax & enjoy the silence & the solitude of Walnut Canyon Cabins. You both are kind & gracious hosts & we hope to see your dreams prosper here. Rob & Jacki

This place was really cool. I loved the animals & nature. Ryan P. – Maplewood NJ

Beautiful place, enjoyed our time here & grateful we found it. Hope to be back again & stay longer. Rhonda W.

A great stay, peaceful. Watching the deer & lightning show the last night. We had a fantastic time. Our fourth time to stay & looking forward to the next. Kim & Alan

March 2019


I intended to only stay one night & drive to San Antonio & Austin. However, I just could not leave this magical place. I enjoyed a drive to see the Bluebonnets at the Willow Loop. I had the best burger ever at The Alamo Springs Cafe. But my cute breakfast proved here tops it all! Like Steve McQueen says: "I'd rather be in the middle of nowhere than any city on earth!" I will be back, great hosts, great place, great memories! Louise C – Minneopolis, Kansas

We enjoyed the comfort of the cabin, feeding the cows & even the rooster crowing! Loved spending my birthday weekend here! The Hill Country is beautiful & we enjoyed viewing it from the deck. Loved it here & want to return – Thank You! Paul & Mary Lou – Georgetown, TX

We had a wonderful time starting with your welcoming visit & glass of wine. The view from the cabin is awesome & so relaxing. So glad you told us about the Cafe so we could plan to "eat in" on the first evening. Perfect location to get away from the crowds, but with so many places to go nearby. The Willow City Loop was our favorite drive to see the Blue Bonnets & neat countryside. Thanks for your great hospitality, the fresh eggs were awesome!!! Hope to see you again. Mary, Cheryl & Yvonne

This place is awesome, can't wait to come back for a longer stay. The Alvarado's – San Antonio, TX

We had a wonderful stay here at The Hideaway. Our kids loved feeding the cows & watching the deer stop by & eat the corn! We hope to be back soon. Thank you. Martinez Family – Houston, TX

Thank you so much for a great time & a great view. The cabin was cozy & warm. Thank you for all the hospitality you have shown. We hope to come back again! Joao, Amy, Natalie, Trinidad – Friendswood, TX

This sweet place has been a place of rest & rejuvenation for us. We are so grateful for your hospitality. Thank you for an amazing stay. God bless, Monica L

Carl & Rhonda, you both were amazing! So welcoming & friendly, it really added to the experience of our stay. The views were amazing & so peaceful to wake up to. Thank you so much for such a beautiful place to come disconnect from the world for a bit. We will be back!! Also, thank you for the food amenities that helped this place feel like our home away from home. The Wells Family – League City, TX

We had an amazing stay here & we were able to explore the area & find some beautiful spots to paint scenery. Also, this cabin is so cozy & my friends and I adored how cute everything is. Michael – Coppell, TX

February 2019


What a beautiful gem we have stumbled upon.Thank you for your hospitality. What a peaceful, relaxing get-away! I have no doubt we will return. Jennifer & BJ – Pipe Creek, TX

January 2019


We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hideaway Cabin. We even asked to stay an extra day for just a "good old day" of relaxation and NFL playoffs! Rhonda & Carl showed that good ‘ol Texas hospitality. We will certainly return. The Buckos – Nevada, TX

We had such a delightful, peaceful time here at the Hideaway. The cabin was so beautiful & quiet. The breakfast was such a treat. Thank you so much for your attention to the details & your hospitality. We look forward to many returns. Steve & Sheila – Lubbock, TX

Thank you for the warm hospitality. This was our 2nd time to stay at Walnut Canyon Cabins & it was just as wonderful an experience as the first. Magnificent sunrises!! God Bless, Jason & Michelle – Allen, TX

We had a great first day. We looked around & climbed up into the loft. The next day we had fun walking around & looking at the cows. On our last day we saw some deer & we walked around at the bat cave. Zade 7 yrs old – Allen, TX

December 2018


We loved our stay and had fun at the fire pit! Thank you, Sophia 3, Ariel 8, Mommy 39, Daddy, 42.

Thank you for a wonderful weekend! The cabin is beautiful, warm & inviting. And the view was amazing, even with the cloud cover. We are already planning a return visit this summer. Jeff & Becky – Springtown, TX

We had an amazing weekend away to celebrate our 6th anniversary! This cabin is beautiful with breathtaking views. Thank you for your warm welcome & hospitality. We will definitely be back so our girls can see the deer! Jace & Ashley

November 2018


This was an exceptional special "first time stay" with our family. It was so beautiful & blissful. We just lost a very special hubby/step-dad/grandfather/friend. My loss was very hard but because of the peacefulness & beauty of our 3 cabins, he really was with us all the way – he loved the outdoors. Thank you for your special Cabins – all containing the necessities we all needed! All of us felt the love you have provided here! We would be honored to come back!! Stella, Josie, Annette & Jeannette

Thank you so much for your warm welcome! Thank you from Schylow, too! This place was a gift this weekend...sorry we couldn't stay longer but we'll be back soon! The serenity of this place sure does remind me of something only God can create. Thanks Again! Tracie & Rickie & Schylow

October 2018


This makes the 2nd time we have stayed in this cabin. We love it! We are celebrating our 4th anniversary this weekend. The weather has been perfect. I loved our mornings outside. You both were very kind to welcome us into your home on our arrival. Thanks for everything, we will be back!!! Troy & Wendy

Thank you for hosting us! We had such a lovely time. Hope to return in the near future! Shane & Aurora – Austin, TX

Loved our time here at the Hideaway! So very peaceful & relaxing. Our cabin was so warm & inviting. Your hospitality was marvelous! The breakfast was delicious & the banana bread – what can I say but fantastic! We will be sure to share word of your beautiful Walnut Canyon Cabins with our family & friends! God Bless, Becky & Mike – Florida


August 2018


That view, WOW! Thank you so much for providing us this impromptu get-away! The cabin is beautiful and the breakfast makings were a fantastic touch. We will be back! Thank you for helping me celebrate my husband's birthday! Charles & Nicole

Rhonda & Carl, The view, breakfast & the serenity are all amazing. This place was everything we were looking for. The hospitality from you was more than we could have hoped for. Thank you so much for inviting us into your home for an awesome night of food & fellowship. We can't wait to come back. Jeff & Kelly – Port Aransas, TX

July 2018


Carl & Rhonda, Thank you so much for such a wonderful cabin. The view is amazing & you can feel God touching you when you are on the porch listening to the breeze, the birds & the laughter of others enjoying life. We have been here several times & have truly enjoyed every stay. Our love & thoughts until next time. Everything was great! Bobby & Tina – Clifton, TX

June 2018


Thanks for letting us stay here. See you again. Larry & Cindy – Big Spring, TX
Carl & Rhonda, thank you so much for your hospitality! This cabin was so incredibly peaceful & we truly enjoyed our stay. Last night we had a total of 10 deer out back at one time. So wonderful! Thanks for the corn! We will definitely be back. Bruce & Donna – Spring, TX

We enjoyed spending our 2nd anniversary here. This was our 2nd time staying here and we'll definitely be back again in the future. Thank you so much! Ben & Bethany

May 2018


Thank you for your incredible hospitality and welcoming. Everything was wonderful from booking to breakfast! God bless you Carl & Rhonda. Brooke & Brian

We had an amazing anniversary weekend staying at our favorite cabins. We have visited several times and each time it feels more and more like ‘our special place.' Carl & Rhonda have done such a beautiful job with the cabins from the local artwork on the walls, to the fresh eggs & fruit in the fridge – and fluffy soft towels in the bathrooms! We love it here and as usual, cannot wait to be back! Jennifer & Bert – Carrollton, TX

We love how you have consistent and well-made art by a local Texas artist. Love Holly Nowak's amazing art! The cabin is tastefully decorated and the bed is so comfortable. Our son loved the cows, the deer and the sleeping loft. Carl and Rhonda are so welcoming and the eggs and biscuits were very appreciated. We will be back for sure! Thanks for everything. Bill & Andrea – Seabrook, TX

Thank you so much for the delightful cabin! We had a most lovely stay. The Hideaway Cabin will always bring fond memories for all your hard work and excellent breakfast & feeding the deer! We had a wonderful stay. The view was beautiful! We will be calling for a reservation for the Hideaway the next time we get up this way! Thank you so much! Jim & Vesta

So happy to have come back to the Hideqway after 3 years!It will be our anniversary destination for years to come! You have made it very warm and inviting place! We love it! God Bless! Terry & Leslie

April 2018


What an amazing way to celebrate 20 years of marriage. The views are ones you never want to leave. Loved my morning coffee, listening to the birds, all the while getting lost in thought. You thought of everything to make the stay great. Food was a special touch and I love that red blanket. We love it here and can't wait to come back. The Potters

Thank you for the quiet place to test my soul and spirit. Amy D

Carl & Rhonda, Thank you for the wonderful experience that you guys let us have this weekend. We enjoyed every moment. Love the Hideaway Cabin and the views. See you guys next year. We are making plans to bring our kids with us. Thank you for everything and God Bless. Jose & Cecilia – Navasota, TX

Dear Carl & Rhonda, Thank you for the warm welcome when arriving. We had a wonderful anniversary stay. It's becoming a tradition – 3 years in a row. Thank you for all the thoughtful touches – fresh berries, eggs & Opa's meats for breakfast. The porch & view is amazing. Wayne & Sheri – Amarillo, TX

Rhonda and Carl, Thank you for the warm welcome and all the loving care and work you have put into this very peaceful retreat. Your love and hope for the cabins are evidence in all the details. We enjoyed our stay especially the beautiful views off the back porch. We can't wait to return. God Bless! Sharon & Jonathan

Carl & Rhonda – We had a great time. The View is Awesome and very peaceful. A great way to align yourself with God. The Devotional was a great touch. Hope to bring our children to experience this. God Bless, Hughes & Ada

March 2018


Carl & Rhonda – Thank you so much for your hospitality! This place is amazing! It was such a pleasure meeting you both! We have now gained two life-long friends! Hopefully, we will be able to come again next year! God Bless! Dilly! Dilly! Tammy & Doug

Very peaceful & relaxing. Love the view, comfy bed, laid-back atmosphere. The cozy matching robes were spa-like treatment. Many thanks. We will return! Paula & JJ – Shire, TX

Great time in the Hill Country. Enjoyed our stay here – quiet, calm & views! Lynn & Kevin – Friendswood, TX

We had a great time. The cabin was awesome! Our favorite perks were the view and the breakfast! Hope to stay here again! Thanks for the wonderful hospitality! Roger, Melody & Bryce

The cabin was a cozy stay for our family. We enjoyed the breakfast, view, "Man from Snowy River" movie and cooking s'mores. Appreciate Carl taking the boys out to throw corn and they also enjoyed the horseshoe and washer games. Christina – Fort Worth, TX

We had a fun time spreading corn for the animals to eat. We saw 3 deer. I had fun sleeping in the loft. Isaac – Fort Worth, TX

The cabin was amazingly comfortable. The view was amazing. Sage – Fort Worth, TX

We had a wonderful stay! The view was beautiful and the cabin was nice and cozy for our anniversary getaway. Thanks for all the thought you put into making the cabin such a great place! Travis & Cassie – Bay City, TX

Gorgeous and welcoming! Thank you for the care you put into making sure our visit was wonderful. I'm so glad we celebrated my birthday weekend here. We will be back! Jacki & Devon

What a wonderful place! I can't wait to come back with my husband and family! Sue W – Colorado & Delaware

February 2018

Thank you for the wonderful stay. We loved the solitude & views. Breakfast was awesome as well as the whole experience. God Bless. Thank ya'll so much for a great time! Chase & Erica


Wonderful stay, cabin is so very nice. Thank you so much for your gracious welcome & hospitality. Trish & Lyle